Archive for 2012/08/01



My Visits To The Capitol: Washington, District of Columbia, USA


Alias Unknown Patient At The Emergency Room



Travelling to Washington, District of Columbia has always been possible for me since I started working at age 16 years old during the decade of the 1980’s. At that time, I was working three to four jobs to pay for college at Northeastern Illinois University after attending a private Catholic school my Mother and Father had chosen for me on the northwest side of Chicago, Illinois. Since extended family lived in the East Coast and in the South by Florida, I always managed to save enough money to visit relatives upon invitation.

One summer, I planned to visit Washington District of Columbia by Amtrak train during my travelling vacation itinerary to Miami, Florida to see my Grandmother. When I arrived by train in Washington, D.C., I had enough energy and excitement to walk on Pennsylvania Avenue by the White House gates and also to get to the Metropolitan Museum of Art to view historic American oil paintings and special exhibits featured in the 1980’s. I found the Jefferson Memorial in its peaceful, quiet beauty. There were three hours for me to sightsee in Washington, D.C. before catching the scheduled Amtrak train south to Florida. I knew that I would return to Washington, D.C. another time.
On the return trip from Miami’s Little Havana neighborhood by Calle Ocho where my Grandmother lived, I had time to meet and say goodbye to Dr. Paul Dascani, M.D. after he gave me a Journal Diary for Carpet Diem as a sign of friendship and fellowship for Doctors-on-Call emergency house call services.
The Amtrak Union Pacific Railroad keeps the same schedule itinerary to Washington, D.C. So, I also had three hours to spare at the Capitol on my way back to the Windy City, Illinois. I was able to walk to the Smithsonian Institute and visit the Mall in Washington, D.C. where I wandered through special exhibits of interest at the Capitol. I must return to visit Washington, D.C. again.
The opportunity to visit the Capitol and the Library of Congress again arrived during the Christmas holidays, while I was working for Groupe Europén S.A. (GESA) as a Travel Insurance Medical Emergency Dispatcher for José Poquet de Samarang, who assigned for me to do the research for an Emergency Medical Network. The Christmas visit via United Airlines was a reward and a special treat in Washington, D.C. for my birthday anniversary at holiday time to stay at the Ritz-Carlton for a visit by the Capitol downtown, near the Library of Congress. I always remember travelling with GESA Premier Assistance and medical staff from the Chicago office at 150 S. Wacker Drive and Adams Street, still across from the Willis Tower South Loop.

2012© Communications, Languages & Culture, Inc. Consulting Media Arts Communications. All rights reserved.


Thirty years ago I completed five (5) years of college studies at Northeastern Illinois University in December 1982 at 5500 North St. Louis Avenue and Bryn Mawr Avenue in Chicago. Unlike others, I spent another extra year in college for additional certification for Secondary Education in Illinois with Linguistics Studies in courses taught by Professor Tom Richardson, Ph.D., English, Spanish, French, Communications, Journalism, Athletics, Dance, High Honors in English, Spanish, and French. NEIU graduation in December 1982 opened the door to employment opportunities in Chicago, Illinois, USA.

In 1983 college graduates could apply for jobs posted on Chicago local newspapers and get hired.

Since I was used to working several jobs to pay for NEIU college studies and attended a Catholic private high school on the Northwest side of Chicago, I was able to pay for my own studio apartment where my Father lived, owned by Mrs. A. C. Nylen, a German-American Realtor and developer. In addition, I also helped to pay for family expenses, travel, and personal expenses after I got a teaching job at Holy Cross High School owned by the Christian Brothers and known today as a College Preparatory Academy in River Grove, Illinois USA.

In 1983, Trans-Lingual Inc. was teaching languages and providing translation and interpretings services as a company located at 8 South Michigan Avenue where Maureen worked downtown by the ‘L’ elevated Loop train stations. I worked for Trans-Lingual, Inc. teaching languages and culture to professional business associates in English, Spanish, French, as well as translating and interpreting for assignments Maureen provided since we knew each other as Northeastern Illinois University classmates and alumni.

Simultaneously, three decades ago, I started working for Groupe Europén S.A., also known as GESA Assistance, 24 hours, 7 days a week travel emergency insurance service on the third floor at 150 South Wacker Drive which used to be the Hartford Building by the Chicago River, in the South Loop by Union Station. At GESA Assistance, I was working as a Customer Service/Emergency Medical Dispatcher in the Midwest for European travellers, South Americans, Asians, and some people from Johannesburg, South Africa and other countries in the same continent.

During Spring 1983, I also enrolled for a Graduate School Fellowship offered by the President Abraham Lincoln Foundation at the University of Illinois Chicago which included Communication & Theatre Studies under Anthony Graham-White Ph.D., who used to be Department Chairman at UIC during the 1980’s. I continued Graduate School Studies with Rhetorical Criticism, Ethnography, Theatre, Japanese, Portuguese, and Medical Communications for Emergency Room Senior Patients at the University of Illinois Medical Center. In addition, Anthony Graham-White assigned for me to do Graduate Research Assistance for the Chinese-American Service League (CASL) managed and directed by Bernie Wong in Chinatown, Chicago, Illinois USA. At that time, I began to do a Master of Arts Thesis about the Chinese in Cuba, an Ethnography of a Chinese-Cuban Family: Assimilation and Acculturation in Cuba.

Copyright 2012. All Rights Reserved.

Communications, Languages & Culture, Inc. Consulting Media Arts Communications


eFoodAlert

Your one-stop source for food safety information

GHung's Blog

Communicate To Relate To Others and the World Around You

Urban Sketchers Chicago

“We show the world, one drawing at a time!”

WordCamp Chicago 2018

April 28-29, 2018

Hollywood Life

Latest Hollywood Celebrity & Entertainment News

InsureZero Blog

All you need to know about Insurance

Bernström Quilt Works

Deconstructing the Common Quilt

Bow Truss Coffee Roasters

We bring together coffee professionals to make specialty coffee more approachable.

Illinois Leaks

Edgar County Watchdogs

Siempre con Cuba

Yo defiendo a Cuba

CNN

Últimas noticias en español de Latinoamérica, Estados Unidos y el mundo

Craig Shaw - Freelance Journalism

Welcome to the blog of freelance journalist, photographer and writer Craig Stephen Shaw.

Miguelnoa's Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Photos, Hodgepodge and Miscellany

randomness from me to you

Stephen Rynkiewicz

Financial & technology communications, digital strategy