On my way to the Museum of Science and Industry on Thursday morning, I met a retired couple from Connecticut who was sightseeing by way of CTA Bus No. 6 from South Wacker Drive and Michigan Avenue in the Loop. The retired married couple was going in the same direction to the Museum of Science and Industry in Hyde Park, Illinois. They told me that they were getting off at the same stop on 56th Street CTA Bus Stop to walk across the street to the Museum of Science and Industry. I had asked the CTA bus driver to let me know when he reached 56th Street by the Museum of Science and Industry. They both got up from the side seats and I followed them out of the CTA Bus No. 6 and walked across the street to the Museum of Science and Industry.

The retired couple from Connecticut hurried out of the CTA Bus and walked fast across the street on the way to the Museum of Science and Industry. They entered through the main Entrance to check-in as visitors at MSI.

Photos by Gardenia Hung Communications, Languages & Culture Inc 029

I used to drive by car to the Museum of Science and Industry for special exhibits and field trips to Hyde Park and the University of Chicago Oriental Institute where I used to visit also and study about Ancient Civilizations and Art History.

When I was attending college at Northeastern Illinois University, I used to ride a bicycle to and from the North Campus at 5500 North St. Louis Avenue and Catalpa, where there is a bicycle rack to keep the bikes for people on campus. During my college years, I was a regular bike rider also along the Lake Shore Drive Bicycle Path which goes along Lake Michigan from the North Shore to the South Shore in Illinois USA. I remember that I also rode my bicycle along the Lake Shore Drive Bike Path all the way to the Museum of Science and Industry more than thirty-one years ago.

Photos by Gardenia Hung Communications, Languages & Culture Inc 034

On the way up, I stopped on the 2nd Floor Cafeteria by the Brain Food Café for a morning break since I had been running around Michigan Avenue and the Magnificent Mile looking for the CTA Bus No. 10 and waiting for a public transportation bus which never arrived since now CTA Bus No. 10 only works on weekends, not during the week to the Museum of Science and Industry. Only CTA Buses No.2 and No. 6 drive out to the Museum of Science and Industry during the weekdays.

Photos by Gardenia Hung Communications, Languages & Culture Inc 047

I had packed for myself a Yogurt and a fresh Peach in a plastic bag with a bottle of water for my morning break. When I reached out into my Blue Bag, the round Peach popped out of the plastic bag and rolled out away from my hand and onto the floor at the Brain Food Café. Suddenly, a young woman near me, dashed out and ran after the round Peach which was already rolling away from her also, under the tables and chairs at the Brain Food Café. The fresh round Peach was running away from the young woman also and rolling away from my morning break. The young woman finally caught the round Peach and smiled because the fresh fruit could not get away from her after all. Then she turned around and saw me with a smile and gave me back the round Peach. I said “Thanks” when the young woman handed the fresh Peach back to me. Then I noticed that we were both in front of the Pedestrian Travel of the Jollyball in Switzerland exhibit at the Brain Food Café. The Peach and the Jollyball rolled out into a similar Pedestrian Travel experience. It was a hilarious experience and a funny encounter with the young woman who ran after the rolling Peach traveling under the tables and chairs at the Brain Food Café.

Photos by Gardenia Hung Communications, Languages & Culture Inc 074

Photos by Gardenia Hung Communications, Languages & Culture Inc 075

Photos by Gardenia Hung Communications, Languages & Culture Inc 046

gardeniahung’s blog

